## FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 6, 2025 6:00 PM CAMP ORCHARD HILL

Supervisor Art Owen Jr. led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Meeting was open to public comment on agenda items. Marty Murray asked about what considerations were made in selecting a new supervisor. John Hilstolski asked about the political party affiliation of the new supervisor.

- 1. Mr. Owen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage, to appoint Mr. Bill Hodakowski to fill the vacant supervisor seat. The motion carried unanimously.
- 2. Mr. Pitcavage made a motion, seconded by Mr. Owen, to appoint Solicitor Vito DeLuca as temporary chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 3. Mr. Owen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pitcavage to appoint Richard A. Melvin as temporary Secretary. The motion carried unanimously.
- 4. Mr. Pitcavage made a motion, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski, to nominate Mr. Owen as Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 5. Mr. Owen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski, to appoint Mr. Pitcavage as Vice-Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 6. **Motion** was made by Mr. Pitcavage, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Secretary/Treasurer at an hourly rate of \$24.00 for a 30-hour workweek plus \$50.00 per meeting attended, two weeks paid vacation, seven paid holidays, three paid personal days, five sick days, dental and vision insurance. The motion carried unanimously.
- 7. **Motion** was made by Mr. Pitcavage, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Zoning Officer at an annual salary of \$ 5200.00, plus twenty percent of zoning permit fees, to be paid on a semi-annual basis and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as Alternate Zoning Officer at a rate of \$69.00 per hour. The motion carried unanimously.
- 8. **Motion** was made by Mr. Pitcavage, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski to appoint Art Owen Jr. as Roadmaster. The motion carried. **Mr. Owen abstained.**

9. Recognition of Road Department wages as set by the 2025 Budget retroactive to January 1, 2025:

**Roadmaster** - \$29.73 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Equipment Operator** - \$25.00 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as necessary. **Laborer** - \$15.00 per hour, hired as needed.

**Motion** was made by Mr. Pitcavage, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski. The motion carried. **Mr. Owen abstained.** 

10. Recognition of paid holidays for full time employees as follows: New Years Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day.

**Motion** was made by Mr. Pitcavage, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski. The motion carried. **Mr. Owen abstained.** 

11. Recognition of full time Road Department additional benefits for 2025: Two weeks paid vacation, three paid personal days, five paid sick days, health, dental and vision insurance, clothing allowance.

**Motion** was made by Mr. Pitcavage, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski. The motion carried. **Mr. Owen abstained.** 

Mr. Pitcavage made a motion, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski to approve the following motions and to recognize the following appointments as a group (numbers 12 through 34.) The motions carried unanimously.

- 12. **Motion** was made by Mr. Pitcavage, seconded by Mr. Hodakowski to appoint Thomas DeAngelo, P.E., SEO as Sewage Enforcement Officer, and David Garvey, and Os Pattonas Alternate Sewage Enforcement Officers and to pass **Resolution # 01 2025**, establishing fees, wages, and procedures to be used in connection with the administration of Act 537.
- 13. **Motion** to authorize the Treasurers Bond in the amount of \$1,000,000.00.
- 14. Recognition of Brett Slocum as Franklin Township Tax Collector to be compensated at 5% of taxes collected.
- 15. **Motion** to appoint the following Solicitors: Vito DeLuca (Supervisors \$6,500.00 per year plus \$100.00 per hour for extraordinary matters pre-approved by the Supervisors), Eric N. Dingle (Planning Commission \$95.00/hour.), Ryan Blazure (Zoning Hearing Board \$150.00 per hearing.)
- 16. **Motion** to appoint DeAngelo Consulting, LLC as Franklin Township's Engineering Consultant and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as the alternate engineering consultant.

- 17. **Motion** to appoint Richard Mooney to serve as Chairman of the Vacancy Board.
- 18. **Motion** to appoint Scott Latoski as Planning Commission member for a four year term expiring in January 2029. Recognition of the remaining members as follows: Frank Hilstolski (term expires January 2026), Pat Perry (term expires January 2027) Sherry Emershaw and Mike Handley (terms expires January 2028.)
- 19. **Motion** to appoint Jim Ide as Zoning Board member for a three year term expiring January 2028. Recognition of Zoning Board members Dale Newman (term expires January 2026.) and Joe Senchak (term expires January 2027.)
- 20. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **02 2025** which names FNCB and PLGIT as the Franklin Township depositories for 2025.
- 21. **Motion** to adopt the current IRS rate for mileage reimbursement as announced and updated.
- 22. **Motion** to name Berkheimer Associates, Inc. as collector of Earned Income Tax, and Local Services Tax.
- 23. **Motion** to appoint Lisa Blazure as Secretary of the Planning Commission at a salary of \$1200.00 per year, paid on a monthly basis, plus \$50.00 per meeting attended.
- 24. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **03-2025** Secretary Authorization to release operating disbursements retroactive to January 1, 2025.
- 25. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **04-2025** Fixing property tax rate for 2025 at 0.6350 Mills retroactive to January 1, 2025.
- 26. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** # **05-2025** Fixing township taxes for 2025 retroactive to January 1, 2025.
- 27. **Motion** to pass **Resolution** #06-2025 Appointing an independent auditor to perform an aged upon procedures review of the 2024 township financial records.
- 28. **Motion** to authorize PSATS Annual Convention attendance, to authorize reimbursement for all reasonable per diem expenses, and to appoint a voting delegate.
- 29. **Motion** to appoint Art Owen Jr. as representative and Richard A. Melvin as alternate to Back Mountain Community Partnership.
- 30. **Motion** to affirm Franklin Township's participation in the Back Mountain Regional Emergency Management Agency for 2025 and to re-appoint Jonathon Skripka as the Franklin Township Emergency Management Coordinator to the agency.

- 31. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as PA UCC inspection and enforcement.
- 32. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as township Flood Plain Manager at a rate of \$65.00 per hour and Property Maintenance services at a rate of \$60.00 per hour.
- 33. Recognition of Recreation Board members as follows: Jim Payne.
- 34. Recognition of township auditors Josh Hilstolsky (term ends January 2026), John Hilstolsky (term ends January 2028.) and Leo Shannon (term ends January 2030.)

The Reorganization Meeting was adjourned. The January Regular Meeting of the Board of Supervisors was postponed until Wednesday January 8, 2025 due to improper advertising.